Heart failure & cardiomyopathiesRandomised controlled trial

Balcinrenone Plus Dapagliflozin in Patients with Heart Failure and Chronic Kidney Disease: Results from the Phase 2b MIRACLE Trial

Eur J Heart FailPublished

  • Randomised controlled trial
  • phase 2b
  • placebo-controlled
  • stopped early (slow recruitment)

Authors' conclusion

While the smaller than planned sample size limits interpretation, we did not see significant reduction in UACR in patients treated with balcinrenone plus dapagliflozin compared with dapagliflozin plus placebo.

Study context

Population
Adults with symptomatic heart failure (HF), EF <60%, estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) ≥30 to ≤60 ml/min/1.73 m² and urinary albumin-to-creatinine ratio (UACR) ≥30 to <3000 mg/g
Participants
133 adults
Comparison
Balcinrenone 15, 50 or 150 mg/day plus dapagliflozin vs dapagliflozin plus placebo
Primary endpoint
Relative reduction in UACR from baseline
Follow-up
Week 12

Primary result

As reported in the abstract

Relative reduction in UACR
  • Not significantly different between balcinrenone plus dapagliflozin groups vs dapagliflozin plus placebo
  • No clear balcinrenone dose-response relationship
  • enrolment stopped early because of slow recruitment

Further findings

NT-proBNP

Non-significant trends towards reduced levels

Safety

OutcomeBalcinrenone 15 mg + dapagliflozinBalcinrenone 50 mg + dapagliflozinBalcinrenone 150 mg + dapagliflozinDapagliflozin + placebo
Hyperkalaemia adverse events leading to discontinuationNot reported in the abstractNot reported in the abstractNot reported in the abstract0 events
  • Hyperkalaemia adverse events leading to discontinuation: Balcinrenone + dapagliflozin 2 events

Hyperkalaemia adverse events leading to discontinuation

Possible dose-dependent increases in serum potassium; reduced eGFR in the highest dose group

Original publication

Balcinrenone Plus Dapagliflozin in Patients with Heart Failure and Chronic Kidney Disease: Results from the Phase 2b MIRACLE Trial. Eur J Heart Fail. Published 23 May 2024. doi:10.1002/ejhf.3294

Summarised from the published abstract; every number is checked against it