Prevention & lipidsDiagnostic or prognostic study

External Validation of the PREVENT Equations in a National Sample of US Adults

Circ Popul Health OutcomesPublished

  • external validation
  • national electronic health record-based cohort
  • individual-level patient data pooled from a collective of 30 health systems (Truveta)

Authors' conclusion

The PREVENT equations accurately and precisely estimate the 10-year risk of CVD, ASCVD, and HF in a large sample of US adults. These findings support the generalizability of the PREVENT equations to inform guideline-recommended risk assessment and preventive efforts.

Study context

Population
US adults aged 30 to 79 years without a history of prior cardiovascular disease (CVD) and with an ambulatory encounter in the electronic health record between 2013 and 2018adults included
Participants
680,864 adults
Comparison
Outcome-specific PREVENT base equations against observed total CVD, atherosclerotic CVD (ASCVD) and heart failure (HF) through December 2024 defined by diagnosis codes

Further findings

OutcomePREVENT-CVDPREVENT-ASCVDPREVENT-HF
Model performance (Harrell C statistic and calibration slope) · 10-year risk
C statistic (95% CI)0.788 (0.786-0.790)Not reported in the abstractNot reported in the abstract
calibration slope (95% CI)0.98 (0.95-1.01)Not reported in the abstractNot reported in the abstract
C statisticNot reported in the abstract0.774 [0.771-0.777]0.824 [0.820-0.828]
calibration slopeNot reported in the abstract1.07 [1.04-1.10]1.01 [0.97-1.04]
  • Median 10-year predicted risk of PREVENT-CVD: women median 3.6% (IQR 1.3%–8.8%)
  • Median 10-year predicted risk of PREVENT-CVD: men median 5.8% (IQR 2.5%–11.7%)

Cohort characteristics

mean (SD) age
55 (13) years
women
56%
mean (SD) follow-up
6.8 (2.3) years

Incident events · mean (SD) follow-up of 6.8 (2.3) years

incident CVD events
29 535
incident ASCVD events
19 280
incident HF events
16 824

Original publication

External Validation of the PREVENT Equations in a National Sample of US Adults. Circ Popul Health Outcomes. Published 5 August 2026. doi:10.1161/circoutcomes.125.012988

Summarised from the published abstract; every number is checked against it