Five-Year Outcomes with Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (PCI) Guided by Fractional Flow Reserve
Primary result · Death, MI or urgent revascularizationResult — go to the resultHazard ratio 0.46 95% CI 0.34–0.63Authors' conclusion
In patients with stable coronary artery disease, an initial FFR-guided PCI strategy was associated with a significantly lower rate of the primary composite end point of death, myocardial infarction, or urgent revascularization at 5 years than medical therapy alone.
Study context
- Population
- Patients with stable CAD and ≥1 hemodynamically significant stenosis (fractional flow reserve (FFR) ≤0.80)randomised
- Participants
- 888 patients
- Comparison
- FFR-guided PCI plus medical therapy vs medical therapy alone
- PCIn = 447
- Medical therapyn = 441reference
- Primary endpoint
- Composite of:
- Death
- MI
- Urgent revascularization
- Follow-up
- 5 years
Methodological detailswith registry of non-significant stenoses
- With registry of non-significant stenoses
Primary result
Death, MI or urgent revascularization
Hazard ratio
0.46
95% CI 0.34–0.63
P < 0.001
By group
PCI vs Medical therapy
HR 0.46 (95% CI 0.34–0.63); P < 0.001
As reported in the abstract
Further findings
| Outcome | PCI | Medical therapy | Registry | HR (95% CI) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent revascularization · 5 yearsPCI vs Medical therapy | 6.3% | 21.1% | Not reported in the abstract | 0.27 (0.18–0.41) | Registry: not reported in the abstract |
| Death · 5 yearsPCI vs Medical therapy | 5.1% | 5.2% | Not reported in the abstract | 0.98 (0.55–1.75) | Registry: not reported in the abstract |
| MI · 5 yearsPCI vs Medical therapy | 8.1% | 12.0% | Not reported in the abstract | 0.66 (0.43–1.00) | Registry: not reported in the abstract |
| Primary end point, PCI vs registry · 5 years | Not reported in the abstract | Not reported in the abstract | 15.7% | 0.88 (0.55–1.39) | PCI, Medical therapy: not reported in the abstract |
| 0.20.5125Hazard ratio (log scale) |
Angina relief
- More pronounced after PCI than after medical therapy
Original publication
Five-Year Outcomes with PCI Guided by Fractional Flow Reserve. N Engl J Med. Published 22 May 2018. doi:10. 1056/ nejmoa1803538
Summarised from the published abstract; every number is checked against it