Coronary disease & ACS

Intracoronary Low-Dose Recombinant Tissue Plasminogen Activator in Primary Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (PCI) for ST-Segment Elevation Myocardial Infarction and Large Thrombus Burden: A Randomized Trial

J Am Coll CardiolPublished Randomised controlled trial

Primary resultResult — go to the resultRelative risk 1.00 95% CI 0.76–1.31

Authors' conclusion

Among patients undergoing primary PCI for STEMI and large thrombus burden, intracoronary administration of alteplase was not superior to placebo in reducing the composite primary outcome of MACE at 30 days, myocardial blush grade 0/1, distal embolization, or failure to achieve ≥50% ST-segment resolution.

Study context

Population
Patients undergoing primary PCI for large territory STEMI and high thrombus burden207 received study drug
Participants
210 patients
Comparison
Intracoronary low-dose alteplase vs placebo in primary PCI
  • Alteplase 10 mgn = 68
  • Alteplase 20 mgn = 69
  • Placebon = 70reference
Primary endpoint
Composite of:
  • Major adverse cardiac events (MACE) (CV death, re-infarction, cardiogenic shock or new-onset HF at 30 days)
  • Myocardial blush grade 0/1
  • Distal embolization
  • Failure to achieve ≥50% ST-segment resolution at 30 minutes post-PCI
Methodological detailsmulticentre, double-blind, placebo-controlled
  • Multicentre
  • Double-blind
  • Placebo-controlled

Primary result

As reported in the abstract

Relative risk

1.00

95% CI 0.76–1.31

P > 0.99

Events by treatment group

Combined alteplase vs Placebo
RR 1.00 (95% CI 0.76–1.31); P > 0.99

Further findings

Components of the primary outcome; each dose vs placebo

Results consistent across all components and for each dose group vs placebo

Safety

OutcomeAlteplase 10 mgAlteplase 20 mgPlaceboRR (95% CI)P value
VF during study drug administrationCombined alteplase vs Placebo · trendNot reported in the abstractNot reported in the abstract1.4%6.86 (0.91–51.4)P = 0.06Alteplase 10 mg, Alteplase 20 mg: not reported in the abstract
OutcomeAlteplase 10 mgAlteplase 20 mgPlacebo
Major or clinically significant bleedingNot reported in the abstract1 eventsNot reported in the abstractAlteplase 10 mg, Placebo: not reported in the abstract
  • Major or clinically significant bleeding: 1 patient in the trial
  • VF during study drug administration: Combined alteplase 10.2%

Original publication

Intracoronary Low-Dose Recombinant Tissue Plasminogen Activator in Primary PCI for ST-Segment Elevation Myocardial Infarction and Large Thrombus Burden: A Randomized Trial. J Am Coll Cardiol. Published 28 October 2025. doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2025.10.008

Summarised from the published abstract; every number is checked against it

Get them every week

New studies on this topic in My Week and in your Monday e-mail.

We e-mail you a sign-in link and a code. No password, no spam.